“Deepika Padukone, what happened to you?” asks Gippy director Sonam Nair

Deepika Padukone, what happened to you?

Fri Dec 27 2013, 12:07 hrsSmallLargePrint
Play

Gippy director Sonam Nair has just one question for Bollywood’s Reigning Queen.

Sonam Nair

I’m only one film old as a director, but I have been a girl for 29 years now. And I have to say, both the filmmaker in me, and the girl, are absolutely fascinated by Deepika Padukone. When you spend so much time making, writing, talking and watching movies, and when you’ve met actors in person and seen that they’re just regular people ” films lose their magical quality. You begin to watch an actor’s performance rather than concentrate on the role they’re playing. You begin to notice inconsistencies in the script, rather than enjoy the narrative. You begin to calculate what the filmmaker wants you to feel, rather than feel it yourself.

But for me, after a long time, someone has brought the old magic into the movies. When I watch Deepika on screen, I feel like a child again, staring at the actor in awe, wishing I could grow up to be like her.

The truth is, like most people, I wasn’t a huge Deepika fan when she started. I thought she was pretty and might do a few masala films and be forgotten. I don’t think anyone saw her coming. But even before ‘Cocktail’ hit the screens, I started to admire something about Deepika.

She always chose really strong, intelligent and independent characters to play. Even when her contemporaries were playing ditzy girls or the hero’s arm candy, giving bigger hits and making a name for themselves, there was a dignity to every role she played. Whether it was a girl working to pay her way through college in ‘Bachna Ae Haseeno’, or a mature and practical girl in ‘Love Aaj Kal’ who spoke intelligently about relationships and the men in her life. Although I have to admit, ‘Cocktail’ is when I really fell in love with Deepika. I remember watching the film and just asking the same question over and over again ” what HAPPENED to Deepika? The best part is that ‘Cocktail’ was not just a one-off wonder. That same thought keeps running in my head whenever a new Deepika film comes out. I would still like an answer to that, if you’re reading, Deepika. What happened to you? And can it please happen to me too?

I don’t think any actress has transformed on screen so suddenly, and she just keeps getting better. You can see that she’s pushing herself in every frame and that every expression and every dance move is from her heart. She’s doing films with amazing male actors and completely overshadows them in so many scenes. I mean, I am a die-hard Ranbir Kapoor fan, but I was only looking at Deepika in Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani. Same with Chennai Express and Goliyon Ki Raasleela” Ram-Leela. What a year she’s had! Is it any wonder then that I feel like there is some enchantment involved?

I’m really inspired by Deepika

right now. Not just because she’s absolutely beautiful and extremely talented, but because she has worked really hard to get where she is now. It makes me hopeful. It makes me feel like my career is in my hands, and if I just give it my all, miracles can happen. No one would call her that now, but she was an underdog and now she’s on top. That’s a story I can never get enough of.

Source

6 thoughts on ““Deepika Padukone, what happened to you?” asks Gippy director Sonam Nair

  1. A very well penned article and I’m sure there are millions who feel precisely the same abt her.. I know I do.

    Liked her in the beginning but just to a certain extent.. Cocktail was head turner for me to.. I was like what did I just see?? Her performance was that good in that movie and she’s been going strength to strength from there on, overshadowing anyone and everyone who’s in the movie with her.

    Her story has become an inspiration for me as well… Absolutely love her and wish her all the success in the world coz she sure has hell slogged for it and deserves every bit of it!

  2. I’ve never really watched deepika or any recent movies, i think i stopped watching Hindi movies since 2008….. then 2 months ago a friend had asked me to watch yjhd … and i did and i felt like i related to her character…. deepika played naina really well….. and my obsession with deepika grew from that character.. so i began to get all her movies and spent time reading her articles…. she really shines a little brighter after each movie she stars in…. and i as an individual hopes to one day be like her…. true she does have competition in her industry… but she has found her strengths through all her weakness and those are her winning cards

  3. yes! I am completely agree she is really hard working. Issliye toh itne kaam time main bhi woh 1 top ki heroin hain….!! we love u dipzz…:-*

  4. Hi I m big fan of deepika. And I have made ac on twitter named @My_deepikaP for her. I wanted to post a letter to deepika on her birthday pls help to me… Pls I m a big fan of deepika and can do anything for her…. Pls DeepikaPFC Pls…

Leave a Reply

