[ARTICLE]10 designers on what makes Deepika their perfect muse.

“Deepika is such a sensual woman.We are truly honoured she chooses to wear our clothes.A woman who wins you over with her talent and charisma. Very Dolce and Gabbana!” – Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana

“Right from the beginning,I always told Deepika that she would be a huge star. She was my campaign girl and I remember dragging her to Spain to do a shoot for Louis Vuitton, where she adorably got seasick on the calmest waters ever.She has beauty and grit.Watching her as Leela( Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela),I was blown away by the unbridled sensuality that I first saw in Cocktail. Now I cant wait for as Mastani in Bajirao Mastnai. – Tarun Tahiliani

“I worked with Deepika when she was a model and then on her first film Om Shanti Om.I was present when she gave her first shot.I think her change as an actor over the last few years has been fabulous, as she is observant attentive and always strives to better her art each day. I thought Deepika would be the perfect show-stopper for my 2013 couture collection-with its old-world inspiration and charm,blended with today’s modernity – as she is someone who carries herself with panache and elegance.” – Manish Malhotra 

“With her perfect balance of extreme glamour and nonchalance,Deepika is statuesque. She is also a rare, effortless mix of old-world charm and contemporary ease.” – Gaurav Gupta

“Deepika is so stunning that it’s a real honour to see her wear our clothing. She has an incredibly natural way of mixing femininity and elegance, which is what our clothes are all about” – Stacy Bendet ,Alice + Olivia

“Deepika is one of my absolute favourite Bollywood actors.To see her in my dress at Karan Johar’s 40th birthday was the greatest surprise. Over time, her covetable style has come to match her astounding beauty and talent. It is wonderful to have someone of her stature wearing my brand.” – Prabal Gurung

“Deepika might be very sexy but at the same time there is something very classic and demure about her face. People have seen her flaunting her body, so they often miss the transition, but her comfort shows in how she carries herself in traditional looks such as our Indian couture.” – Sabyasachi Mukherjee

“Deepika is an Indian beauty with global style. To feel a part of my homeland through her is fulfilling achievement. I would love to see her in the rose and black floral ball gown or green strapless coque feather gown from my A/W 2014-2015 collection as both are looks designed for a total movie star.” – Naeem Khan

“Deepika was absolutely resplendent in my cream and gold sari at her first appearance at the Cannes Film Festival in 2010. I couldn’t be more proud of the way she represented Indian beauty, poise and grace on an international platform.” – Rohit Bal

“Deepika epitomizes everything that is new and refreshing about Bollywood today-she is a culturally aware actor who has this charm and intelligence about her that matches the bold and complex pieces that we make.She has the ability to take one of our beautiful dresses and then smash it out of the park just by turning up in it.” – Pankaj Ahuja, Pankaj & Nidhi 

(Info via @BhartishawPriya)

Leave a Reply

